RienCD91 cover 300 webRIENLP1091

Daniel Kahn & The Painted Bird live up for their name as "radical Yiddish borderland bandistas with punk attitude” with their new album The Butcher's Share, the first in five long years. It is the most powerful and complex work of the band so far and is dedicated to the great political and personal themes of our time. Kahn's revolutionary songs for the Apocalypse are like a declaration of war to the present.


A lot has happened since the last album Bad Old Songs. Daniel Kahn, who was born in Detroit but has been living in Berlin since 2005, has reshuffled the band with new and old companions. Christian Dawid's clarinets, saxophones and brass instruments sound like a dead drunk sailor orchestra crashing a Jewish wedding, Jake Shulman-Ment's razor-sharp violin cuts through the songs, and Kahn is in top form as a singer and guitarist. Sometimes full of joke, sometimes like a nightmare, sometimes deeply sad, they smuggle the original pieces, translations and adaptations beyond the borders of language, history, culture and genre. Punk, Klezmer, Jazz, Brecht, Waits, Folk-Ballads and more shake hands, and producer Thomas Stern brings his whole Kreuzberg punk rock sensibility into the project..





Seite A:
1. Shimke Khazer (Trad.) 0:28
2. The Butcher’s Sher (Kahn) 4:59
3. Freedom Is A Verb (Kahn) 3:21
4. Arbeter Froyen - Working Women (Edelshtat/Kahn) 3:22
5. Sheyres Hora (Trad./Kahn) 2:00
6. The Ballad Of How The Jews Got To Europe (Cooper/Wex/London) 3:10

Seite B
1. Children In The Woods (Kahn) 2:02
2. Shtil Di Nakht Iz Oysgeshternt - Silent Stars (Glick/Kahn) 4:01
3. 99% - Nayn-Un-Nayntsik (Waletzky/Kahn) 5:30
4. Tzivkever Nign (Kahn) 2:58
5. No One Survives (Kahn) 3:00

Prelisten at the CD page

Daniel Kahn: vocals, accordions, acoustic & electric guitars, piano, tenor banjo, bird whistle, harmonica
Jake Shulman-Ment: violin
Christian Dawid:
clarinets, saxophones, trombone
Michael Tuttle: upright and electric basses, back vocals
Hampus Melin:
drums, percussion, pan, back vocals
Dan Blacksberg: trombone

Produced, engineered, and mixed 2016-2017 by Thomas Stern at Sternenstaub-Studio, Berlin-Kreuzberg
Mastered by Ingo Krauss, Candy Bomber Studio, Berlin-Tempelfhof

Release date: November 17, 2017

The LP contains a dropcard for mp3-downloading the album tracks (incl. CD bonus tracks).


copyright © 2016 - Webdesign u. -programmierung: Kalle Staymann