After years of waiting for a Yiddish Tango recording we did it ourselves - both proud and lucky to find an extraordinary singer, profound expert and indefatigable promoter of Yiddish language and culture in our home town Berlin.

Karsten Troyke does not care so much about where the tango originally comes from. His distinctive style refers to the Jewish theatre and cabaret song of the Twenties and early Thirties just as to the renaissance of the Yiddish "Schlager" in the Fifties, and after all his art has that brightness you will not find while searching it.


1. Akh Nem Mikh, Liber (Trad./bearb. Sara Bialas/Karsten Troyke) 3:48
2. Ven Di Lakhst (Max Perlman) 2:59
3. Mazl In Brukhe (Dave Cash) 4:34
4. Libste (Benzion Witler) 2:20
5. Fin A Shtayn Geboyrn (Trad./bearb. Witler) 2:59
6. Dus Gezang Fin Mayn Harts (Witler) 3:41
7. Tsvay Hartsn (Simon Ossovitzky) 3:18
8. Tango Margarita (Trad./bearb. Jacob Sandler) 2:56
9. Ales Farloyrn (Witler) 3:17
10. Mazel, Di Shaynst Amul Far Yedemen (Trad./bearb. Witler) 2:32
11. A Shud Dayne Trern (Witler) 2:57
12. Harts Mayn (Musik: I. Dunayevski / Text: Mosche Sachar/Troyke) 2:49
13. A Bisale Glik (Henry Gerro) 2:50
14. Belz (Trad.) 4:45
15. Ver Ken Di Libe (Witler) 4:22
16. Gedenk (Witler) 3:24

Total Time: 53:31


Karsten Bertolt Troyke, vocals
Trio SCHO: Gennadi Dessiatnik, violin, backing vocals / Valeri Khoryshman, accordion / Michael Jach, double bass
Guest musician: Jan Hermerschmidt, clarinets (track 4, 7, 9, 10, 13)
Produced by Karsten Troyke
Recorded, mixed and mastered June/July 2006 at Studio Zauberton by Jens-Peter Kruse & Bertolt Fenko

Release date: October 16th, 2006

copyright © 2016 - Webdesign u. -programmierung: Kalle Staymann