The Nightingale of the Mulberry Garden

Maria Tanase, the daughter of a horticulturalist, was born in the suburbs of Bucharest in 1913. The traditions of the countryside were still strong in these suburbs, the local inhabitants being mainly farmers, seasonal workers (such as those working for Tanase's father's nursery), country tradesmen, and travelling salesmen. Even today in Rumania, vegetable and fruit markets play a central role in city life, leaving many urban areas with a pronounced rural character. Maria's father employed a workforce of young women who knew all about running a garden for its produce, whether vegetables, fruits or flowers. In keeping with Rumanian tradition, it is women rather than men who are trained for this kind of employment. Coming as they did from all over Rumania, these women brought the diverse folk traditions of their hometowns and villages with them. The little Maria was eager to learn each new song that she heard and her first repertoire was an impressive collection of these very songs. Many of them give expression to the loneliness that the womenfolk feel when their husbands leave home, often for months on end, to sell their produce in the cities. Songs like "Trenule, masina mica" or "Agurida" are a poignant mixture of bitterness and humour in the face of such loneliness.



1. Pe vale, tato, pe vale 2:13
2. Marie, si Marioara 2:31
3. Frica mi-e ca mor ca maine 4:13
4. Ciuleandra 3:19
5. Trenule, masina mica 3:40
6. Maine toti recrutii pleaca 4:14
7. Asta iarna era iarna 3:13
8. Doina din Maramures 4:03
9. Uhai, bade 2:15
10. Butelcuta mea 1:35
11. Mai Gheorghita, und-te duci? 3:07
12. Tulnicul (Alpenhorn) 2:37
13. Agurida 4:27
14. Asta noapte te-am visat 3:08
15. Eu pe badea-am intrebat 2:27
16. Aseara ti-am luat basma 3:11
17. Bade, din dragostea noastra 4:04
18. Paraus, apa vioara 3:46
19. Toderel 2:41
20. As ofta sa-mi iasa focul 3:03
21. Valeleu 1:50
Total Time 64:43




All tracks recorded 1955-57 in Bucharest, Rumania
Maria Tanase, accompanied by the Orchestra Victor Predescu,
Orchestra Ionel Banu (3, 6, 13) and the Orchestra Nicusor Predescu (9)
Mastered and restored at Misiak Mastering, Hamburg, engineer: Torsten Lenk
Licensed by Electrecord, Rumania
Supervising producer: Till Schumann, executive editor: Grit Friedrich
36-page-booklet in German, English and French
release date: 10/10/2001

copyright © 2016 - Webdesign u. -programmierung: Kalle Staymann